The Paris Apartment Read Alikes

The Paris apartment : a novel

Foley, Lucy (Novelist), author
2022

Jess needs a fresh start. She's broke and alone, and she's just left her job under less than ideal circumstances. Her half-brother Ben didn't sound thrilled when she asked if she could crash with him for a bit, but he didn't say no, and surely everything will look better from Paris. Only when she shows up, to find a very nice apartment, (could Ben really have afforded this?) he's not there. The longer Ben stays missing, the more Jess starts to dig into her brother's situation, and the more questions she has. Ben's neighbors are an eclectic bunch, and not particularly friendly. Jess may have come to Paris to escape her past, but it's starting to look like it's Ben's future that's in question. The socialite. The nice guy. The alcoholic. The girl on the verge. The concierge. Everyone's a neighbor. Everyone's a suspect. And everyone knows something they're not telling.

Show More

Sort by:

Diablo Mesa

Diablo Mesa

Preston, Douglas J., author
2022

Lucas Tappan, a wealthy and eccentric billionaire and founder of Icarus Space Systems, approaches the Santa Fe Archaeological Institute with a proposal for an excavation. He wants to finance a careful, scientific archaeological excavation of the 1947 Roswell Incident site. The Institute agrees and Nora, much to her annoyance, is tasked with the job. Instead of the evidence of a crashed UFO, Nora's excavation immediately uncovers two unknown murder victims buried at the site. Agent Corrie Swanson is assigned the case. The discovery eventually opens up a pandora's box of mystery and atomic espionage, and a present day menace that puts all their lives at grave risk.

Show More


The glass hotel

The glass hotel

Mandel, Emily St. John, 1979- author
2020

A weaving of three lives that captivates money, beauty, white-collar crime, ghosts, and moral compromise. Vincent is a bartender at the Hotel Caiette. New York financier Jonathan Alkaitis owns the hotel. When he passes Vincent his card with a tip, it's the beginning of their life together. Leon Prevant, a shipping executive for a company called Neptune-Avramidis, sees a note from the hotel bar and is shaken to his core. Thirteen years later, Vincent mysteriously disappears from the deck of a Neptune-Avramidis ship.

Show More


The good sister

The good sister

Hepworth, Sally, author
2022

From the outside, everyone might think Fern and Rose are as close as twin sisters can be: Rose is the responsible one, with a home and a husband and a fierce desire to become a mother. Fern is the quirky one, the free spirit, the librarian who avoids social interaction and whom the world might just describe as truly odd. But the sisters are devoted to one another and Rose has always been Fern's protector from the time they were small. When Fern decides to help her sister achieve her heart's desire of having a baby, Rose realizes with growing horror that Fern might make choices that can only have a terrible outcome. What Rose doesn't realize is that Fern is growing more and more aware of the secrets Rose, herself, is keeping. And that their mother might have the last word after all.

Show More


The harbor

The harbor

Engberg, Katrine, 1975- author
2022

When fifteen-year-old Oscar Dreyer-Hoff disappears, the police assume he's simply a runaway. But his frantic family is certain that something terrible has happened. With not much to go on, detectives Jeppe Kørner and Anette Werner have. And with every passing hour, as the odds of finding a missing person grow dimmer, it will have to be enough.

Show More


Her every fear

Her every fear

Swanson, Peter, 1968- author
2017

Scarred by a brutal attack. Kate Priddy never does anything bold. Until, in an attempt to take control of her life she accepts an apartment swap offer from her cousin Corbin Dell, and moves from London to Boston. But soon after arriving, Kate makes a terrifying discovery: Corbin's neighbour, Audrey Marshall, may have been murdered. Far from home and emotionally unstable, her imagination playing out her every fear, who can Kate trust?

Show More


The it girl

The it girl

Ware, Ruth, author.
2022

Vivacious, bright, occasionally vicious, and the ultimate It girl, April quickly pulled Hannah into her dazzling orbit. Together, they developed a group of devoted and inseparable friends - Will, Hugh, Ryan, and Emily. By the end of the school, April was dead. Now, a decade later, the man convicted of killing April has died in prison, but a young journalist presents new evidence that the man may have been innocent. As Hannah reconnects with old friends and delves deeper into the mystery of April's death, she realizes that the friends she thought she knew all have something to hide - including a murder.

Show More


My sister, the serial killer

My sister, the serial killer

Braithwaite, Oyinkan, author
2018

Satire meets slasher in this short, darkly funny hand grenade of a novel about a Nigerian woman whose younger sister has a very inconvenient habit of killing her boyfriends. "Femi makes three, you know. Three and they label you a serial killer." Korede is bitter. How could she not be? Her sister, Ayoola, is many things: the favorite child, the beautiful one, possibly sociopathic. And now Ayoola's third boyfriend in a row is dead.

Show More


The rain watcher

The rain watcher

Rosnay, Tatiana de, 1961-, author
2018

As the Malegarde family gathers in Paris for their patriarch's seventieth birthday, a natural disaster causes the Seine to flood the city, revealing to young Linden Malegarde hidden fears and secrets that test the limits of family bonds.

Show More


What happened to the Bennetts

What happened to the Bennetts

Scottoline, Lisa, author
2022

Jason Bennett is a suburban dad who owns a court-reporting business, but one night, his life takes a horrific turn. He is driving his family home after his daughter’s lacrosse game when a pickup truck begins tailgating them, on a dark stretch of road. Suddenly two men jump from the pickup and pull guns on Jason, demanding the car. A horrific flash of violence changes his life forever.

Show More


chat loading...